One of Moore's first professional sales was this insane Xmas story from 1979, which he wrote (and drew!) as "Curt Vile" for the short-lived Frantic magazine, the British version of Marvel's Crazy (a B&W humor magazine in the vein of MAD and Cracked that ran in the '70s and early '80s).

According to Moore expert George Khoury and Comic Book Resources, Moore was hired by Dez Skinn, who was working for Marvel UK at the time. Skinn would later found Quality Communications, the publisher of Warrior Magazine, which serialized Moore's V For Vendetta and Marvelman. And after that, nothing would ever be quite the same...